It was unclear by early Wednesday morning which party will control either chamber of Congress next year. Here are updates on the closely watched races of a handful of lawmakers who hold key defense seats, based on AP results at 4 a.m. Eastern time.

  • Rep. Elaine Luria (D-Va.) lost her campaign for re-election in the Hampton Roads-area district she’s represented since 2018. Luria, a retired Navy commander, serves on the Armed Services, Veterans’ Affairs and January 6th committees. Republican Jen Kiggans, a state senator who’s also a Navy veteran, will represent the district in the next Congress.
  • House Armed Services Committee member Elissa Slotkin (D-Mich.) won re-election.
  • Rep. Don Bacon (R-Neb.), another Armed Services Committee member, won his race.
  • Rep. Jared Golden (D-Maine), also on the Armed Services Committee, was leading in his re-election race.
  • Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio), a longtime member who serves on the defense appropriations subcommittee, easily won her race in a redrawn district that skewed more conservative.
  • Rep. Ken Calvert (R-Calif.), the top Republican on the defense appropriations subcommittee, was losing in his redrawn district.
  • Sen. Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), a member of the Armed Services Committee, was leading in his race.
  • Sen. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), also an Armed Services Committee member, easily won his race against Rep. Val Demings (D-Fla.).

Air National Guard photo of Rep. Kaptur by Staff Sgt. Kregg York