Eight House freshmen will join the House Armed Services Committee, Politico reported in its National Security Daily newsletter. They are Reps. Mark Alford (Mo.), Jen Kiggans (Va.), Nick LaLota (N.Y.), Morgan Luttrell (Texas), Rich McCormick (Ga.), Cory Mills (Fla.) and Dale Strong (Ala.), as well as Del. James Moylan (Guam).

Also new to the Republican side of the panel are Reps. Brad Finstad (Minn.), Carlos Gimenez (Fla.) and Nancy Mace (S.C.).

House Democrats have not yet finalized their committee rosters.

Marine Corps photo of Rep. Nancy Mace by Lance Cpl. Samuel C. Fletcher